UA-52481335-1 PS Kemi - Football Finland

PS Kemi

Full Name: Palloseura Kemi “Kings”
Nicknames: Kingit “The Kings”
Founded: 1999
Stadium: Sauvosaari (4,500)
Manager: Jari Åhman
Chairman: Antti Pasanen
Last season: 9th

Titles: –
Cup: –

European Cup: –
Cup Winners Cup: –
UEFA Cup: –
Europa League: –
Champions League: –

PS Kemi got promoted to the Veikkausliiga last season and their first season in the top league ended in 9th position. They managed to get their points early but in the end it did go down to the wire if they would survive or not. They have to thank the poor season that FC Inter had for that.

In a couple of occations PS Kemi was able to surprise their opponents especially at home where they beat for instance HJK. However they were very inconsistent and never cemented a starting 11 into which they could build upon. Especially a big blow for them was the loss of Billy Ions who moved to SJK in the middle of the season. After he left, Kemi only managed to get 4 points from the remaining games. Without him, they could not create proper attacks and the ball was coming quickly back.

For this season, it will be even more difficult. The team has changed completely. Most likely there will be only 3-4 players from last year´s team in the starting line-up for this season. Some of the transfers in having been good for instance Oskari Forsman who was one of the best goalkeepers in Ykkönen for TPS. He will now get a chance in the Veikkausliiga. He should be a capable keeper for this level. Just before start of the season, they announced that Ryan Gilligan who played as captain in a couple of games last season, will not continue with the team. This will put a lot of pressure on Matias Ojala who is the only decent midfielder from last season still in the team. There are question marks in all positions.

They have a completely new back-4 who will take some time to gel. PS Kemi has also tried playing with only 3 at the back and it will be interesting to see if that will work in Veikkausliiga. They will have to try some things like this though as the material is not good enough.

Another question is where the goals will come. They brought in Jussi Aalto from FC KTP. Aalto has a great record in the Ykkönen for scoring goals, but his only seasons in the Veikkausliiga so far have brought in only a handful of goals at FF Jaro (7) and VPS (7). In the Ykkönen though, he has scored 51 goals in the last 3 seasons (78 games). The way he plays may look lazy but he is a born goalscorer. Besides him, they brought another Ykkönen player, Rasmus Karjalainen from AC Oulu. He is definitely a player for the future, but neither is really tested on this level and if they can produce.

Just before the season started PS Kemi signed 3 new players. Eduard Zea who is a defender, Julian Guevara who is a midfielder and  Momodou Ceesay who is a 195cm tall striker. Zea should be a decent defender but Guevara might not be good enough for Veikkausliiga. He has not played on very high level but time will tell. Ceesay has the best potential to be an influence. He has played in the Champions League and in some good teams. If he can stay fit, he should be their primary striker.

Players in: Oskari Forsman (TPS), Jussi Aalto (KTP), Lassi Nurmos (AC Oulu), Niko-Petteri Kuukasjärvi (FC Kemi), Abdulkadir Said Ahmed (PK-35/VJS), Juuso Laitinen (KTP), Justus Lehto (FC Jazz), Samuel Mahlamäki (FC Lahti Akatemia), Reza Heidari (PK-35 Vantaa), Marek Kaljumäe (FC Levadia, Estonia), Rasmus Karjalainen (AC Oulu), Omar Jama (Klubi 04), Edwin Salazar (Orsomarso SC, Columbia, loan), Abdoulie Mansally (Houston Dynamo, USA), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa, Costa Rica), Eduard Zea (Union Magdalena, Colombia), Julian Guevara (Naxxar Lions, Malta), Momodou Ceesay (Zilina, Slovakia)

Players out: Kalle Taimi (FC Lahti), Saku Kvist (KTP), Joona Veteli (Fredrikstad FK, Norja), Juhani Pennanen (OPS), Christian Eissele (FF Jaro), Erik Törnros (GKS Tychy, Poland), David Bitsindou (end of contract), Nicolae Vasile (end of contract), Zeljko Savic (end of contract), Cornelius Stewart (T.C. Sports Club, Maledives), Tuomo Könönen (FC-88 Kemi), Ryan Gilligan (Contract cancelled)

What you can expect this season from PS Kemi are a couple of surprises or two. They can beat some teams at home but most of the times they will struggle. You can expect a lot of goals against them.

PS Kemi 2-3 KPV Cup
PS Kemi 2-1 AC Oulu Cup
PS Kemi 0-0 OPS Cup
HauPa 1-6 PS Kemi Cup
RoPS 1-1 PS Kemi Cup
RoPS 3-0 PS Kemi Friendly


O. Forsman FIN
M. Vilmunen FIN

A. David TTO
L. Nurmos FIN
A. Ahmed FIN
N. Kuukasjärvi FIN
A. Mansally GAM
J. Laitinen FIN
M. Kaljumäe EST
E. Zea COL

H. Louste FIN
M. Ojala FIN
J. Lehto FIN
A. Gullsten FIN
A. Räihä FIN
O. Jama FIN
S. Mahlamäki FIN
R. Heidari FIN
P. Jokinen FIN
J. Lehosmaa FIN
R. Gilligan ENG
J. Guevara COL

F. Valencic SLO
J. Aalto FIN
T. Wiena FIN
E. Salazar COL
M. Ceesay GAM

Our prediction: 11th